How to block and unblock someone on WhatsApp

  • WhatsApp allows you to block unknown numbers as well as contacts from your contact list.
  • Blocked contacts will not be able to call or send messages to you, and your status updates will not be visible to them. 
  • The contacts you block on WhatsApp will not be informed that they have been blocked and will not be notified once their messages are not being delivered.
  • This story is a part of Business Insider's Guide to WhatsApp.

WhatsApp is one of the most popular free instant-messaging apps, used to help people keep in touch with each other around the world.

While the messaging app provides a convenient platform for users to connect with friends, family and new acquaintances, it can sometimes also become a potential platform for unwanted contacts and violation of personal privacy.

Fortunately, it is very simple to block a contact on the messaging platform. Here are all the ways you can block and unblock a contact on WhatsApp, whether you're using the Android or iOS app.  

How to block a contact on WhatsApp for Android

1. Open WhatsApp.

2. Tap the three vertical dots in the top right-hand corner to access the "More options" menu. Then, tap "Settings."

3. In the Settings menu, tap "Account." 

4. From the Account menu, tap "Privacy," and then "Blocked contacts." 

5. From the Blocked contacts page, tap the "Add" icon on the top right-hand corner. 

6. Search or select the contact you want to block. 

Alternative method: If you've previously chatted with the contact, or you've received a message from an unknown number, you can block them directly in the chat. Open the chat and tap the three vertical dots. From there, tap "More," then tap "Block." 

How to block someone on WhatsApp for iOS

1. Open WhatsApp.

2. Tap the "Settings" icon in the bottom right-hand corner.

3. In the Settings menu, tap "Account."

4. In the Account menu, tap "Privacy" and then "Blocked." 

5. From the Blocked menu, tap "Add New…" and search or select the contact you want to block. 

Alternative method: If you've previously chatted with the contact, or you've received a message from an unknown number, you can block them directly in the chat. Open the chat and tap the name of the contact. Scroll down and tap "Block Contact." 

What happens when you block someone on WhatsApp?

When you block someone on WhatsApp, you will no longer receive notifications, messages, calls or status updates from them. 

In addition, your "last seen" timestamp and online status, plus any changes made to your profile, will not be visible to contacts you've blocked. 

It's worth noting that WhatsApp does not notify a user when they have been blocked, so if you block someone, they won't know directly. Still, there are a few things a person can check to confirm they've been blocked. 

How to unblock a contact on WhatsApp

On Android:

1. From the WhatsApp home screen, tap the three vertical dots in the top right-hand corner to access the "More options" menu. Then, tap "Settings."

2. In the Settings menu, tap "Account." Tap "Privacy," and then "Blocked contacts." 

3. Tap the name of the blocked contact. 

4. Then tap "Unblock [contact name]." 

Alternative method: You can also search for the contact you blocked. Open the chat, tap on the contact's name, then tap "Unblock." 

On iOS:

1. From the WhatsApp home screen, tap "Settings" at the bottom right.

2. Tap "Account" then "Privacy."

3. Tap "Blocked." 

4. Tap the contact name, and on the contact details page, tap "Unblock Contact." 

Alternative method: Similar to process on the Android app, you can also search for the contact you blocked. Open the chat, tap on the contact's name, then tap "Unblock."

 

Signup Today: Payments and Commerce Briefing by Insider Intelligence

Related articles


Source: Read Full Article